Skip to content

Keep Your (and my) 2014 Resolutions

January 7, 2014
Image courtesy of satit_srihin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of satit_srihin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

2014 is here and it’s time for new resolutions.

That means we’re all making promises that should make our lives better.

We go around saying things like I’m going to exercise, I’m going on a diet, I’m going to break that bad habit, and I’m going to get more writing done.

But sometime during the year, somehow, it slips away from us, and we end up breaking our resolutions (after we promised under fireworks and all). Has this ever happened to you?

Well, it’s happened to me, many times. But not this year. This year, it’s going to be different. How?

Here’s a trick I learned on how to keep my resolution.

A Little at a Time

So you want to start exercising 60 minutes a day, every day of the week, for the entire year.

Fine, that’s all good. But if you’ve never exercised a day in your life, this is very unlikely. And this doesn’t only apply to exercise. It applies to diets, breaking bad daily habits, and writing.

If you’ve never wrote more than 10 minutes for the week, then you’re not going to write 60 minutes every day.

Instead, try taking a small step. Just start exercising. Just start dieting. Just go one day without that habit. Just start writing. Do it just a bit every week. And next year, when you can proudly say I kept my resolution to do a bit every week, then you can graduate with a new resolution to do it a bit every day.

So what’s the small step I’m taking?

Well I’ve been blogging for some time now, so I’m going to try to up my game, just a little bit.

My Way Forward

If you have a novel in the works, or you’ve finished your first draft and ready to revise, then I’ve created a guide that might be right up your alley. And I’m going to give it to you, free, courtesy Knights World.

How to Turbo-Charge Your Novel to Become a Great Read will help you with tips and tricks I’ve learned around the web and from my experience writing my novel.

Simply click here, enter your email address, and it’s yours.

Another new thing I’m trying: fiction short stories.

I realise that I’ve been focusing on articles about how to write. But I’m an author first and a blogger second, so I’ve actually missed my target.

Now, if you’ve been enjoying or making use of my helpful articles about writing, then don’t worry. I’m still going to post those. I’m just including some new content.

Every month I will post a new and original short story. Just don’t get angry if I miss a month or two. You know how slippery those resolutions can be.

So subscribe for updates and you will get my guide, along with fiction short stories, and more awesome articles about writing, all for free.

What do you think? Sounds good, right? Let me know in the comments.

From → Misc

6 Comments
  1. Sounds good!
    One step at a time is something many fail to consider.
    I am looking forward to your short stories.
    Happy New Year!

  2. Gwen Stephens permalink

    Reasonable and manageable are the key to sticking to goals, I think. Sounds like you feel the same, Jevon.

Leave a Reply

