Skip to content

How to Select an Audience for Your Writing

November 30, 2012

Have you ever bought a universal remote, only to find out it does not work on your TV? How about a universal adapter that does not have a jack for your radio?

That’s because nothing is truly universal. Manufacturers say they are, but they are not.

Do you know the one thing in this world that is truly universal?

Gangnam Style.

That’s right. I read an article that said it is now the most viewed video of all time, ever, clocking a record breaking 838 million.

Now the rapper has got Madonna calling him up on stage, MC Hammer is calling him homeboy, he’s performing for the King of Thailand, and even Obama is doing the dance.

And interesting enough, I had never even seen it.

So I joined the rest of the world and looked at the video. And I have to admit, it is pretty entertaining.

Just in case you are the only person left on the planet who haven’t seen the video (since I just watched it), check it out below.

.

It’s interesting that a South Korean rapper was able to create something truly universal, something that is liked by every race in every country.

But writing isn’t like a PSY video, chances are that everyone is not going to like your story. It’s just not possible to write one story that would interest everybody. Some people prefer mystery, some prefer science fiction, some prefer romance.

This wide range of preferences is why you need to select an audience, a group of people who you will pitch your story to.

Now I’m a fantasy fiction writer, so if I tried to pitch my writing to a pastor, then I’m likely to get doused with holy water.

It made me laugh when a coworker in the office said she stopped reading my story for fear of a unicorn jumping out the bushes and start harassing everybody (because, you know, that’s what unicorns are notorious for).

So clearly my story is not for her.

Age is also a factor. Children are willing to accept much more unrealistic things than adults, but lose interest easily.

When I look at those old Batman cartoons that I loved as a child, I can’t help but wonder how could the Joker afford that giant robot, and where did he even get that technology.

Now this thought never once occurred to me when I was younger. The cartoon is still awesome, by the way.

So how do you know who is your audience?

Fortunately there are tons of stories that fall into your genre. The guys who read the ones similar to yours are the guys you’re interested in, so focus on them and ignore the rest of the world.

Now that you know who you are after, all that’s left is to find them, something I’ll cover in a future post.

By now you may be wondering, if gangnam style is the most viewed video, what’s the second most?

Justin Bieber’s Baby (I know, the world has gone mad).

So have you selected your audience yet? And can you think of anything else that is truly universal? Let me know in the comments. And if you haven’t already, don’t forget to read Dirk the Juggernaut, this month’s trailer of my latest book, King Larsen.

Interested in receiving notifications for new articles? Subscribe to my weekly newsletter by emailing jevonknights@yahoo.com

From → Writing Tips

6 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Cindy D and commented:
    Happy December 1 !!!
    Here is a fun blog that I found and want to share with you.

  2. sherryanndenise permalink

    Nice, light and thought provoking piece Jevon.

  3. Tammy J Rizzo permalink

    Reblogged this on Tammy J Rizzo and commented:
    As well as knowing who we need to get to review our books, we also need to know who we need to entice to read our books. Knowing our intended audience is vital to all of us authors who want to sell our work, especially if we intend to go the self-publishing route and need to do all of our own marketing.

    • I didn’t consider who to review our books, thanks for that Tammy. And thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

