Skip to content

Finish Writing It!!!

October 19, 2012

I have a friend who would ask every month about how much progress I’ve made with my novel.

After the first month my answer was: page 5.

I felt somewhat embarrassed when I said it, because it sounded like I wasn’t serious, or maybe it was the fact that he laughed.

The following month when the question came, my answer was: page 10. At that point I thought to myself, 2 months and only 10 pages. I wonder if I can do this.

But even with all my self-doubt, I kept writing.

Actually, I really started this novel just to get the first time experience out of the way and had no intentions of even trying to publish it, since every article I read explained that most authors are ashamed of their first book due to novice writing.

So I picked one of my easy stories and gave it length by adding more scenes and more characters. Somewhere in the middle of all this I started really getting into it.

I would ask myself, so what happens next, almost as if there was someone else there who wanted to know more.

Because I liked it so much, I kept working on it.

And that’s all you need to be able to finish your writing. You have to be passionate about it. You have to want to write to the ending.

Regular guys like myself work because we need money to pay the bills.

Unless you’re a freelance writer, that rule doesn’t apply here. So why are you writing?

If you’re writing just because you heard some guy called Stephen King made a mint with several books and you want a piece of the action, then you’re writing for the wrong reasons.

I’m not saying you won’t make it, but it’s possible your journey would be more miserable than a back seat driving mother-in-law.

But if you’re writing because you feel this story just needs to be put on paper, and you find it very interesting, then I guarantee that you will finish it.

Don’t worry, readers will come, fans will come, and maybe even a cheque will come. But even if all these things don’t come, then that’s not why you write, isn’t it.

So now when my friend asks how far I’ve reached, I can proudly say: page 200, currently reviewing on 2nd draft.

So what’s the reason you write or thought you should write? Let me know in the comments. And if you haven’t already, don’t forget to read this month’s trailer of my latest book, King Larsen.

Interested in receiving notifications for new articles? Subscribe to my weekly newsletter by emailing jevonknights@yahoo.com

From → Writing Tips

13 Comments
  1. lol back seat mother in law where u get that one from

    • I watched a comedy with that once. Can’t remember the name though, but she was real miserable.

      • narina permalink

        lol..I was going to comment on the “back seat mother in law” too…hmmm sounds like a tyler perry quote hehehe.

  2. I love this post :-). I have this idea that just wont go away and so I have embarked on my first novel writing adventure. It is so exciting! The ideas just keep coming and I am so curious to find out what happens next!!!

    Mary

    • That’s great Mary. I’m sure you will finish it with that kind of thinking, and I’m interested in knowing what’s it about. I wish you all the best with your novel.

      • It is all coming together, I don’t have a short way to describe it yet :-). The underlying theme is that we should never give up. It breaks my heart when I see people give up on their life and just exist. I want to inspire people to take life by the horns!

        Thank you for your good wishes and good luck with your writing as well!

        Mary

  3. Chris permalink

    I was wondering also cb…”back seat mother in law”.. great ideas Ge.

  4. Interesting as usual. I, too, wondered about the ‘back seat mother in law’- lol

  5. narina permalink

    Congrats on finishing….hope to read the whole book soon 😉

  6. Jevon, your post is on point.

    During my first draft, I was extremely passionate about my novel. I write faster taking pen to paper, so I managed to complete 2-3 pages at a time. The revision process was different. I spent time re-working my story angle. That caused the passion to fade a bit and I was ready to give up on the first novel and move on to the second.

    However, I’m still in the game with my first novel, polishing the chapters. It’s taking longer than I expected, but I’m no quitter. I re-read my past chapters for passion and inspiration when those “down” days hit. Writing a novel isn’t for whimps.

    For me, I believe all of the effort will turn into a published novel or an awesome learning device for my next novels.

    • “Re-read past chapters to rev up passion and inspiration.” I like that. It’s a great technique that I will remember. Sounds like a good post too. Thanks Chamois.

  7. Serene permalink

    Interesting J, looking forward to having a read! I wonder what the title would be ?

    • Hey Serene. The title is King Larsen. Feel free to click on my King Larsen link and read some scenes from the book.

Leave a Reply

