Skip to content

Inspiration Examples

August 14, 2012

In my last post I talked about how to overcome writers’ block by using inspiration from all around. You can use movies, music, and everyday stories to create your very own masterpiece.

So you found one hundred dollars, but what if you found one hundred million, and the drug dealers arrived just in time to see you leave with their goods. How many times in our life have we found things based on just being at the right place at the right time?

In the gym that I frequent, there is a picture of a lion roaring. I’m sure most pass it without even noticing, but I see a mighty warrior perched on a ledge in a thick forest, possibly holding a spear, letting the world feel his dominance. He could either be the villain who must be stopped, or the protagonist with a terrible secret.

Whenever I see three or more fully loaded eighteen wheeler trucks on the highway, I’m actually seeing large metallic soldiers marching to war, steam rolling forward in plumes from their exhaust.

I’m a huge fan of massive mechanical robots. Once you put two of those in a movie, I’m pretty much sold. Sure, Titanic was a great movie, but think how much better it would have been if, instead of shooting at Jack with a gun when he found that hand drawn naked picture of his girlfriend, they both pumped up their colossal steam powered robots that were being transported to the war (cause, you know, those were popular back then) and slugged it out. See, I didn’t steal the Titanic story, I was just inspired by it.

One of my future novels is inspired by a song that I heard years ago. The concept hit me so hard that I spawned an entire story from it.

So these are some of the ways I draw inspiration from everyday life. What do you think? Can you see it clearer now? Let me know by leaving your comments. And don’t forget to check out the latest trailer for King Larsen.

From → Writing Tips

2 Comments
  1. Chris permalink

    Excellent guide Mr. Knights inspiration is really all around us. But being a writer requires so much dedication and commitment.

    Please give your audience an insight on how you get the time?

  2. Yvonne permalink

    You seem to have an overactive imagination. However, I do agree with Chris. How do you find the time? I know you mentioned time management is the key. It sounds so cliche I need to know more.

Leave a Reply

